Meet the 2022-2023 FSHN Council

FSHN Council Board Members 2022-2023

President Athena Apalis

Aloha, my name is Athena Apalis and I am a senior majoring in dietetics and minoring in psychology. I plan to graduate in Spring 2023 and hope to become a Registered Dietitian in the future. My goal this year is to create a fun and welcoming environment that provides valuable experiences, resources, and opportunities to develop skills that prepare members for their future careers. Some of my hobbies include cooking, hiking, and going to the beach, and one of my favorite foods is pad thai!  

Vice President Michael “Mikey” Yanos

Hello! My name is Michael “Mikey” Yanos and I’m currently serving the Food Science and Human Nutrition Council as the Vice President. I received my Bachelor’s Degree in Dietetics in 2020 and am currently an ISPP intern. After completing my Dietetic Internship and Masters in Nutrition through ISPP, I hope to find a full time job as a Registered Dietitian (preferably in a clinical or sports related setting). When I get old and tired, I will look to live my life peacefully as a farmer if my body permits. My hobbies include weight lifting, various outdoor activities like hiking and running, computer gaming, and collecting Pokemon Cards and Funko Pops. Lastly, my favorite food is carne asada quesadillas with guacamole and sour cream on the side (and bubble tea for dessert). 

Secretary Haley Nakamura

Name: Haley Nakamura

Position: Secretary

Current Standing and Major: Senior + Dietetics Major

Career Goal: Registered Dietician / Nutrition Psychologist

Hobbies: Going to the beach, film photography, yoga, reading

Favorite Food: Pasta, acai bowls

Social Media Developer Sydnie Osumi-Ching

Hi everyone! My name is Sydnie, and I’ll be your FSHN Council Social Media Developer. I am currently a senior majoring in Dietetics and planning to graduate in the Spring of 2023. I hope to be working as a Clinical dietitian in Hawaii. I love trying new recipes, gardening, and hanging out with my dog at the beach in my free time. My favorite food is Thai Panang Curry.

HAND Liaison Rudy Ramirez

Name: Rudy Ramirez

Position: Hand Liaison

Current Standing and Major: 4th Year FSHN Pre-professional

Career Goals: Dietitian and Physician Assistant focusing on neurology or psychiatryHobbies: Socializing, hosting, hiking, traveling

Graduate Student Representative Michelle Lewis

Name – Michelle Lewis

Position – Graduate Representative

Current Standing and Major – PhD Student, Nutritional Sciences

Career Goals – Researcher, Actor

Hobbies – Acting, paddling/steering with Hui Nalu, hiking, pickleball, cooking, gardening

Favorite Food – Anything locally grown and organic


Treasurer Bernice Delos Reyes

Name – Bernice Delos Reyes

Position – Treasurer

Current Standing and Major – Senior Master’s of Science in Nutritional Sciences

Career Goals : Expand my businesses and help others get healthier in their mind, body, and spirit

Hobbies : Spending time with my husband and two sons (3 and 1.5 yo) at the beach, hiking, or somewhere fun; Exercising 

Favorite Food(s) : Strawberry shortcake and sushi


Published by fshncouncil

FSHN (Food Science & Human Nutrition) Council at the University of Hawaii at Manoa is the premier pipeline for all nutrition & food-related projects and opportunities. Make sure to check back periodically for upcoming events & call for volunteer work!

Leave a comment